Day 24: Learning About Feedback

Written and shared by Michelle Parrish

I’m learning about feedback, and the intense process involved with it. Yes, I said “intense” – you’ll see why. 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.57.29 AM

 Learning Goal, Success Criteria; Planner for Comprehension Test

 

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.57.38 AM

Learning Goal, Success Criteria; Planner for Lyrics

 Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.57.46 AM

Learning Goal, Success Criteria; Planner for Interview

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.57.56 AM 

Learning Goal, Success Criteria; Planner for Comic

 Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.58.04 AM

Learning Goal, Success Criteria; Planner for Collage

 Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.58.12 AM

Learning Goal, Success Criteria; Planner for Journal Entry

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.58.19 AM Bulletin Board – Back Wall of Classroom

 

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.58.30 AM

Bulletin Board – Student Samples

 

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.58.38 AM

Bulletin Board – Student Samples

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.58.48 AM

 Bulletin Board – Student Samples

 

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.58.59 AM

Bulletin Board – Student Samples

 

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.59.07 AM

Bulletin Board – Student Samples

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.59.15 AM

 Bulletin Board – Student Samples

 Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.59.26 AM

Bulletin Board – Student Samples

 Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.59.41 AM

Individual Google Docs, with Hyperlinked Feedback

Screen Shot 2014-04-24 at 6.59.49 AM

 Individual Google Docs, with Hyperlinked Reminders & Feedback

It’s all of 15 seconds – certainly a VERY SMALL PART of the 100 hours of video that is uploaded to youtube every hour!

But it’s a lot more than 15 seconds to the Grade 8s. To them, it’s a reminder of the steps involved in using teacher feedback. Steps? Yes, there are several steps actually. And sometimes they don’t remember them – which totally disheartens me because I know I was late getting home for a supper my hubby made last week! Late – because I was recording audio feedback to guide my students in their next day’s assignment.

So, it’s really, REALLY important to me that they use their feedback – important because I know they need the feedback to do their best job, and important because I was late for supper when my husband was cooking (a rare event indeed!). So, if I’m going to take the time to give feedback, I need to make sure they are using it for their learning.

In the flowchart (which was actually recorded on a whim for a friend, and not at all intended for its 15 second spot on youtube!), there are 7 steps.

1. Pick a book you like.
2. Read what other people did to be amazing (see bulletin board photos in slideshow).
3. Listen to the reminders for that task (audio recordings for each task were embedded in the google doc)
4. Listen to the feedback given on previous tasks (audio recordings were hyperlinked in each student’s google doc)
5. Use the planner, set goals to show what you know (see planner photos in slideshow)
6. Monitor your brain’s activity – check on what you’re doing (we talk about metacognition whenever I remember to!)
7. Hand in your best work!

The Grade 8s were advised that they needed to follow the chart as they prepared for their work. It was fabulous to see them moving around the room. Some were reading the bulletin board and some were conferencing with their peers (sometimes my feedback directs them to a peer who can provide a specific example of a particular skill). Others were listening to feedback and writing down their goals. A few were grabbing the planners and success criteria handouts. I was circulating, providing some one-to-one support where it was needed. I was able to focus my time on some key issues and struggling learners because every student already had some feedback to guide them in their next steps.

Now if only I could figure out how to remove the nasally tone from my recorded feedback – whose voice is that anyway?

Michelle Parrish is a learner and teacher in Northwestern Ontario, and she is most happy when working alongside her grade 8 students.

Follow her on Twitter – @mproom31

Leave a comment